Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children 

Some of the peculiar photos from the book

Title:  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children 

Author:  Ransom Riggs

Genre: Mystery/ Thriller 

Publisher:  Quirk Books

Pages: 382

ISBN: 978-1-59474-952-0

Movie cover edition


Synopsis:   

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of peculiar photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its decaying bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that Miss peregrine’s children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a desert island for good reason. And somehow-impossible though it seems-they may still be alive. 


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Review:

  I started Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children a day before Halloween, I know from the beginning the moment I read about Ralph Waldo Emerson’s prom there’s something strange about this book, something that made me reading it. Until now, I have to pause to gather all my thoughts about the book as I write my review; I just can’t find the right words to describe such amazing novel like this.

I know it’s a hype book but I assure you that I won’t spoil anything; respecting all the others hasn’t read the book. (I know you do hate spoilers so much).

The whole concept of the novel is unique. All of the peculiar pictures Riggs have used, just made the whole book interesting, and made it more strange. I’m pretty impressed about the settings (pardon me but I’m addicted to any books with Britain setting). The island of Wales is indeed a perfect place. The characters such as Jacob, the peculiar children and every character in this book are well developed. I love Riggs concept about the Monsters (the hallows, Wights). Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will give you thrilling feelings, wonder, and amusement.  

This book is beyond amazing! Magnificent! Everyone should read this and embrace their own peculiarity.

I know many of us have already read this book, but for those haven’t read it, you should read it. There is no doubt this book is great. 

(To those who haven’t read it) I highly recommend that you should read the book first before watching the movie (I don’t mean to discourage you from watching the movie but please do read the book first. You won’t regret it.) I haven’t watched the movie adaptation but I have seen still images from the movie (fyi the book edition I have has special contents such as still pictures from the movie, Q and A) which I noticed the photo captions. I won’t tell you what I have discovered but if you’ll read the book first, you will eventually puzzle everything out… I don’t mean to be harsh about the movie but to understand the story well, the book has all the answers… 

In the end all I can say is that this book became one of my favorite reads this year… 

Read it, discover strange things, and embrace your own peculiarity…
MellanieAnnDuque

Leave a Reply

