REVIEW: The Summer that Melted everything by Tiffany McDaniel 

Title: The summer that Melted everything 
Author: Tiffany McDaniel 

Synopsis:

Fielding Bliss has never forgotten the summer of 1984: the year a heat wave scorched Breathed, Ohio. The year he became friends with the devil.


Sal seems to appear out of nowhere – a bruised and tattered thirteen-year-old boy claiming to be the devil himself answering an invitation. Fielding Bliss, the son of a local prosecutor, brings him home where he’s welcomed into the Bliss family, assuming he’s a runaway from a nearby farm town.

When word spreads that the devil has come to Breathed, not everyone is happy to welcome this self-proclaimed fallen angel. Murmurs follow him and tensions rise, along with the temperatures as an unbearable heat wave rolls into town right along with him. As strange accidents start to occur, riled by the feverish heat, some in the town start to believe that Sal is exactly who he claims to be. While the Bliss family wrestles with their own personal demons, a fanatic drives the town to the brink of a catastrophe that will change this sleepy Ohio backwater forever.

Courtesy of Goodreads


RATING: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


REVIEW:

  When I started reading this novel I was amazed how the author makes everything vivid and at the same time made me regret to read it because of the devil thingy (for you to know why, I’m afraid reading books with sort of things I mean Creepy things). As I plunge deeply that was the moment I said to myself this books is GOOD (really good) and it wasn’t that creepy at all.

  The boy Sal who claim that he was the devil who was then invited by Fielding’s father gave a big impact to everyone. The Bliss family didn’t expect that the devil they have expected to show with horns and a pitch fork on his hand would chance there life. 

  It is really an inspirational book to read. 

Earlier I was telling my mom about this book and while I’m telling her the whole story it gave me goosebumps because it was really a great story. (She even said that she wants to read it too!) I’ve cried on books I have read before but this made my tears fall continuously as if my eyes were Cumulonimbus clouds pouring a heavy rain on the ground. 

 From Aunt Fedelia’s dreadful past to Dresden’s heartbreaking story and Grands hopeless death. It really touched me. (P.s. I’m still crying while writing this review) 

Sal, in that early age he have touch people’s hearts even mine. This little kid will make you realize many things.

 It gave me a heart breaks, it really did stabbed my heart so deep. Heartbreak that I will always keep as a lesson, a thing that will always reminds un that we all have demons among us we just need to deal with it. We have to let go of the things that is holding us back and move on. That sometimes we need to accept things that are gone, forgive ourselves before we learn to forgive others. 

There will be one person who will change the way we use to see life before. A devil that will change us forever.


I highly recommend this book to everyone. This is such a good book for you not to read, you’re going to regret not reading such great book like this. 

I could say this is the best novel I have read in my life. Really it is! 

I’m still suffering from a book hungover. Thankful that I managed to write my review despite of all the feelings this book gave me.

Leave a Reply

